Welcome!

19 Jan

Welcome to my blog!  My name is Rachael Urrutia and I’m a senior at the University of Oregon in beautiful, but rainy (I’ll come back to this later) Eugene, Oregon.  I’m a journalism student here with a focus in public relations, and until now was pretty unsure of what I wanted to do.  Am I the only one who feels a slight embarrassment when replying “um, I’m not sure yet” to the often-repeated and until now, dreaded, “what do you want to do once you graduate” question?  To which the answer is always “oh…well, you have some time.”  Well, my time has finally come!  For one of my journalism classes we were assigned to create a blog about an area of public relations that interests us, and the first thing that came to my mind was: fashion!

I have a serious love for fashion.  Like I said earlier, I live in Eugene, where more often than not there is a torrential downpour outside my window, and the outdoors aren’t especially inviting.  But while it’s dumping buckets outside, I can sit on my computer for hours upon hours and get lost in chiffon blouses and five-inch heels.  I can pass the day away clicking through sites like Wanelo or Pintrest looking at amazing clothes and finding new stores and designers to obsess over.  I know, to some people that may sound crazy, but if you’re still reading this, then you can probably relate.

Now back to my blog.  When I started exploring the world of fashion public relations I found sites likes PR Couture and nyc PR girls which showed me how this career path is the perfect fit for me.  The profession is constantly changing and evolving, is on the cutting-edge of fashion and you never seem to slow down.  From my blog I hope to keep you up-to-date with what’s going on in the world of fashion from a PR perspective, discuss ways PR professionals can best promote their clients and how they can connect with the public using social media.

Enjoy!

Photo credit: Ana Garcia

Leave a Reply

