Inside the World of Roberto Cavalli

4 Mar

Who ever thought you’d be able to experience the day-to-day life of world-renowned fashion designer Roberto Cavalli?  Well ladies and gentlemen, it’s possible!  Urbalicious introduced me to Cavalli’s blog, which is place of inspiration and insight into the designers life.  It truly is a treat for fashion lovers everywhere!  And it’s not because he’s giving us behind-the-scenes sneak peeks at what he’s coming out with, it’s because he is writing about his life (and oh, what a fascinating life he leads), his passions and what inspires him.  And it’s actually him!  Usually designers outsource all of their social media including blogs, Twitter and facebook, to a PR team.  But not Cavalli, he is updating his blog almost daily and currently has 39 posts.  Impressive, especially considering the fast-paced life he leads traveling around the world.

I think his blog is an amazing way for the designer to connect with his fans around the globe and make them feel a genuine connection to him.  His writing is honest and inviting, and makes you feel like he is an old friend catching you up on his life.  His most recent post starts, “I opened my eyes a few minutes ago. I shower, brush my teeth, and cream my face. This will make you smile but I take great care of my skin. I’m not afraid of dying, but I do not like to look vecchiooooooo! [ooooold!]”  And every post ends with, I LOVE YOU and his signature.  See what I mean, it’s like reading a letter from your best friend.  He posts about all of the beautiful places he goes around the world, and the events he attends, making you feel like you are right there with him.  A recent post about his night at an amfAR event (a charity helping children with AIDS in Africa), where he received an award for his devotion and support of the foundation, ended with, “An evening so special and important! I want to create some suspense and tell you every detail in the next posts. Forgive me, but I want you to live with me every last moment of this wonderful evening…”

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m hooked!  I don’t know if this approach would work as well for every designer, but Cavalli writes from his heart and from his posts you can feel his passion for what he does.  Fashion is his life, not just his job and I can’t wait to find out what he’s doing next!

Leave a Reply

